Chico California DUI King Joe VanDervoort Attorney at Law

Restricted License Information Sheet for California DUI

Restricted License for CLASS C – Ordinary Driver’s License

If you have received a first offense DUI and choose not to have a DMV hearing, or lose a hearing, your license is suspended for a period of 120 days. After you have served the first thirty (30) days of your actual suspension period, you may apply for a restricted license.  A restricted license is for purposes of driving to and from work and during the course of employment, to and from school, and/or to and from any DUI program if you provide the following to any local DMV office in California:

1. Proof of enrollment in a DUI School;
2. Proof of insurance (SR22 form only); some insurance
companies, notably State Farm, take 5-6 days, and sometimes even longer, to issue you or DMV an SR22 form, so we suggest you advise them at least 10 days in advance of your desire to get such form;
3. Pay a re-issuance fee of $125.00 as of 2006.

After 30 days actual suspension, there will then be a five-month additional restriction term that allows you to drive to and from work, in the course of employment, and to and from the DUI School, only.

Restricted License for COMMERCIAL DRIVER’S LICENSES

For a restricted license the law regarding Class A commercial driver’s licenses has been changing radically since September, 2005. The law has been amended to more seriously affect Class A drivers even when they are driving a non-commercial vehicle. License losses can vary from one year to life. Contact our office to obtain the most recent information on the law regarding these issues.

IF YOU HAVE A PRIOR CONVICTION(S) OR HAVE REFUSED OR FAILED TO COMPLETE A BLOOD, BREATH, OR URINE TEST, YOU DO NOT QUALIFY FOR A RESTRICTED LICENSE UNTIL YOU HAVE HAD AN ACTUAL SUSPENSION FOR A MINIMUM OF ONE YEAR. IF YOU ARE A MINOR OR HAVE A CLASS A LICENSE THE RULES ARE DIFFERENT.

If you have one prior conviction, you may be eligible for a restricted license after a one year actual suspension by providing the DMV with 1. Proof of insurance (SR22 form) and 2. The re-issue fee of $125.00 and 3. Proof of enrollment/attendance in SB38. The DMV generally will not issue a restricted license to anyone with priors, even one, unless you are first enrolled in an 18 month SB38 program, and have completed a substantial portion of it. It is suggested that immediately upon receiving a DMV decision resulting in a loss of license; you should enroll and begin attending the SB38 DUI program.

DUI and DMV law changes frequently, contact our office for the most recent changes and information.

DUI King
Chico California DUI Lawyers 40+ Years of Experience.


Free Consultation

Name (required)

Phone Number (required)

Message

Office: 530-342-2858
E-mail: duiking@duiking.com


DUI Attorney Specialist

Designation listed by
www.California-Dui-Lawyers.org

california dui lawyers association